"The Father of Aviation"

(Earlier in the week): "See you on Friday, then?"

I took a quick look at my Calendar and realised, firstly, that my mental planner wasn't up to date and that, secondly, I wouldn't be having the full day I'd anticipated in the office. This was because a new building was being opened at school. 

I arrived in good time, was treated to a glass of fizz, and made a little conversation while I waited for the main event. My friend, Chris, the erstwhile headteacher, spoke first, starting off with a story about an old boy of the school who'd been there in the mid-nineteenth century. Well, this was all right with me; I don't think we have enough storytelling in speeches*.

Except that this story was no fiction. It was about former school pupil, Lawrence Hargrave, who was a pioneer of manned flight, and after whom the new school building was being named. Thus, the whole event turned out to be rather interesting. And whilst Mr Hargrave may not be much fêted here, he is so well-known in Australia, the country to which he emigrated, that he actually appears on their twenty dollar note. (Or did. Not sure if he still does, tbh.)

*I'm not counting the porkies told by May, Fox, Davis, Johnson et al as stories.

****
-13.3 kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.