The Norrie Blues

All much calmer today and I even managed to get out in the garden and do a bit of severe brambling until rain stopped play.
Today's blip - a collage of street sign in Skibbereen. I was hoping to impress you with information about the lettering and dates and materials as I have an excellent book on the subject - but crikey, it's complicated! Instead just admire the different lettering (the Irish font taken from the Book of Kells - generally, and the dual language signs introduced in the early 1900s as a result of the Gaelic Revival - generally);  and the great names - my favourite has to be Norrie Blues Boreen, there has to be a song in that; and I quite like Home Rule Terrace too and Blackthorn Place was looking very special with its red paint and complimentary red berries. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.