Rocky Mountain Moments

By pipersmom

MonoMonday: Music

I think I must have been about 8 years old when I got my first guitar in Tijuana, Mexico for $10.  We lived in Los Angeles and it was only a 2 hour drive away, so we would go once in a while for a day of shopping.  Anyway, I actually learned to play it and for my 10th birthday (53 years ago) my favorite uncle gave me the guitar in my blip.  I was so thrilled, especially since my dad said I could take lessons.  I never got very good at it but I could play all the popular songs.  I played through high school and really enjoyed it but then sort of lost interest.  I would pick it up once in a while but not regularly.  Sadly, this is the first time it's been out of the case in several years.  I loved photographing it today and thinking of those times and I really liked the light and reflections in the face of the guitar.  Pipersdad chose this image after I narrowed it down to three but I decided to put the other two in the extras.  Many thanks to JDO for hosting the challenge!

I added a tiny pink border but it seems to have disappeared....but by now I'm sure everyone remembers that October is Breast Cancer Awareness Month.  A click on this link will take you to the BreastCancerSite and a click on the pink bar will help to fund research and mammograms for those who can't afford them.   It's completely free to click and could make a big difference to someone in need!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.