Waiting

Belem nearly tipped me over the tourist edge today.  As the busker at Padrao dos Descobrimentos sang 'May the Lord God get me out of here Bless You' I knew I had to leave Belem for another time. The crowds, everywhere, queuing, too many people. There is an extra at said monument where the women in the foreground were having a great time photographing each other. 
 The only thing I queued for today was my Pasteis de Nata (custard tarts) in Belem.  This may be controversial but I didn't think they were as good as the ones at the market.  
This evening I went to the Moorish Quarter, Mouraria.  How can it go so terribly wrong though? tuna salad in one quarter means fresh blue fin tuna, but here, my worst nightmare, tuna mayo with corn!  All that aside, I'd like to visit this area again in daylight.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.