Hirundography

By Hirundo

Nifty Fifty

Chedders and I are going on another caper to Drax power station on tomorrow today (*Sigh* yes, as ever, a backblip...). Daughter F is up from Bristol and is joining us; maybe shooting film.
 
I’d got myself in a stupid, self-imposed tangle over making a series using a “new” (vintage c.1950s actually) lens that J had bought me. Trying to do a continuous run of images according to its focal length; i.e. 90 at 90. Just for the hell of it.
 
Woke up this morning: “Get a grip, Rob!” (me saying that, not J, actually...). After nearly three years with this outfit (kit, not Blip) I know that there is absolutely no set formula. I still have shed-loads to learn, and that will continue. That’s the charm.
 
I do know it’s a very dull day. I do know that the turbine hall is likely to be gloomy. I do know that Oliviero Toscani stressed on Master of Photography: “Stop just going wide because you think that’s what’s needed - it gives you a predictable feel!”. (Or in my case, long, either, just to be perverse...).
 
I never, ever go out with more than the lens on the camera, and never a tripod (which the organizer has advised). Decision made.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.