The Cheviots.

Another day exploring Northumberland on my hols and today I visited St Cuthbert’s Cave and Preston Tower. Both were suggested by my guide book, which was the best £11 I’ve spent in preparation for this holiday. It’s a Brandt guide and they are thoroughly recommended as they subscribe to the idea of slow travel.

It recommended climbing the fell behind St Cuthbert’s Cave suggesting there were excellent views of Holy Island, it didn’t disappoint and looking the other direction to the high fells was equally stunning as I hope you’ll agree.

The other recommendation was Preston Tower, which is a rare fortified tower that is open all year round. You just pop your £2 in the box! You can see it in extras along with St Cuthbert’s Cave, which impressed too.

Oh, and no bike picture today but just to reassure you I cycled to Preston Tower, about 18 miles, and then walked up the fells later. All in all a very good day spent outdoors.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.