The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Smoke signals?

Today I visited Weston village, in Bath, to sell Christmas cards to the residents of a care home. I've been there before a couple of times: it started when I was house sitting in Weston last year.

Steve drove, and I snapped this strange sky shot as we began the vertiginous descent down Lansdown Lane. On arrival at the care home, the managet said they'd expected me, but the person who'd booked me was off sick, and all the other staff were busy. They fetched me a large steel meal trolley, and I wrapped my LED starry lights around it, loaded it up with baskets, and began the round of the rooms. The home is in a fine converted mansion, with three floors, a small lift, and some narrow corridors. I had a list of people who'd probably say no, and that was it!

I did have fun, sold around £50 worth of charity Christmas cards, and had some interesting chats along the way. The home hadn't organised payment in advance, so I hope I get paid soon for those who didn't have cash or cheques! Let us hope that I brought some cheer, early though it is One lady was very pleased to have got all her card shopping done in one fell swoop. My mother is the same, though in her case she does not actually send them!

Donkeys and reindeer were trending today.

In other news, I've had a rush of aromatherapy products orders to fulfil, I've learned a little about Excel and started building spreadsheets for my card business, and the language school.in Cheltenham has finally got back to me about EFL teaching, on and as and when basis! Probably not until March 2018, alas.

Tomorrow, another market. Christmas cards for sale. Bring on the mince pies! Has anyone ever found a decent GF mince pie with puff pastry?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.