the nightmare before Christmas

This is Milton Keynes shopping centre at around 9.30 this morning.  It’s quiet.  We’re here this early because Anniemay has an opticians appointment and we always take the opportunity to have breakfast out.  

By the time we leave the opticians and head for something to eat - around 10.00 - the place is heaving.  Apparently it was even worse yesterday; car parks jammed, people unable to get in or out ….

Anniemay asks me what I want for Christmas and to be truthful, I can’t think of a single thing.  As far as material possessions are concerned, I have my bike(s), my camera(s) and my guitar(s).  These are the ‘things’ that give me a lot of pleasure and I have no wish for more.

I realise I am very lucky.  But what I’d really like is world peace and the eradication of homelessness and poverty.  So - she’s going to be pretty busy between now and the end of the year.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.