Simply Me

By Suze981

The Great Edinburgh Run

I had totally forgotten that the Great Edinburgh Run was this weekend. A colleague reminded me on Friday.

As you can see I wasn't running it. It's only a 10k and as I do more than this distance on a regular midweek run, I don't see the point in paying for the privilege! Entering races can get expensive!

I decided to go for a hill run instead. Helvellyn is less than a month away now and I need the practice! I got up early to miss the race set up and went a different route up Arthur's Seat. They were just setting off as I was heading back down the Crags, where I got this shot.

As I was crossing the park home, I couldn't help but think how much I hate all the hullabaloo that goes with big organised races. I just can't be bothered with it. I don't think it's a coincidence that I'm moving to trail running and I'm thinking of doing the Lochaber marathon next year - it's only got 600 participants.

I've always preferred running on my own, but it appears I'm becoming even more of an antisocial runner!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.