Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

The world according to Dave

Went up to Mill Hill for lunch with The Yoga Mama at a little veggie / vegan place in the Broadway called Brewed and Pressed. It was very busy, people out enjoying the undefinable timing of Sunday eating; lots of all day breakfasts and brunches being served but we went for the lunchtime labelled Buddha bowl which I have to say was fantastic. As was the raw chocolate cake served for pudding. I don’t think I could go back to old fashioned dairy puds even if a carnivorous Dementor sucked my vegan soul out.

That sounds very dark, which it wasn’t meant to.

Anyway after that we the went down to Westminster to see Dave Milliband. You know Dave, one of three brothers. Ed, Dave and Steve. Surely you’ve heard of The Steve Milliband, they we’re big in the charts a few years ago?

Okay I’m not sure if that was a bad political joke or a bad music joke. Either way, it was a really fascinating hosted chat show style event, part of the Guardian Live series. Centred on the global refugee crisis, it also encompassed Brexit, political culture, Dave’s relationship with his brother (Ed not Steve) and the slightly risqué subject of whether he would fancy coming back and forging a new centre party and being the British version of Emmanuel Macron (he said no by the way and said he remained Labour through and through).

So a rather lovely day that also encompassed a walk through sunny London backstreets and parks with lovely autumn colours and a quick dip into Fortnum and Masons to use the loos and look at their Christmas displays. For my part I felt energised and calm, which was a good place to be after some days I’ve had recently.

I was left with the question in my mind of whether this was part of Dave’s return to British politics or just as it said on the tin, an audience with the other Milliband brother. I think the former and TSM thinks the latter. Only time will tell…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.