Lala's Journal

By Lala

Bath Day 2 - Sandford Award Ceremony

So, back to yesterday! We left Home just before 8 to drive the four hour journey, picking Sue up from Clacketts Lane on the way. We had allowed an additional two hours for the early morning M20and M25.the satnav rerouted us onto the m3 due to traffic ahead, and I can honestly say that in the years I have driven that route (since 1998 when Dad died) I have never had such a good journey. We arrived two hours early!

A lovely ceremony, with Lucy Worsley awarding the certificates, and Tracy Borman giving an address. I managed short chats with our examiner, the education staff from Cardiff Castle (I love that Castle) and Boun and Karen from Blenheim. Afternoon tea was delicious and then Sue and I got a cab to the hotel to meet back up with Mr L.

We went to Carluccios for dinner, which was lovely and met
The delightful Isabella who was our waitress.

Back to today......breakfast was ok, normal hotel self service and we chose, only having an hour or two to do the open top bus tour, to at least be able to say we had seen some of Bath.

I do believe it has overtaken Chester as my favourite English city. It has everything, and a convivial atmosphere too. Mr L and I vowed we would return, so Bath now joins the ‘to visit soon’ list that so far also has North and West Wales, Norfolk, Scotland and of course Brockenhurst ( to visit Brother in his new abode) already higher up!

Journey home, again uneventful save that Mr L felt unwell when we reached Clackets Lane and so I drove the rest of the way. He was supposed to be the chauffeur. Funny how he recovered when I suggested we just got Chinese in for dinner!

The photos from the official photographer have been emailed. I will download them at work tomorrow, as ipad doesn’t want to do it!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.