Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Wild dog!

The new bike was broken in today. In fact, I did TWO half hour sessions, with breakfast in between. 2 kms. Not the 20kms I misread (and immediately informed Janet). How ridiculous. She quietly put me right.

I did have to fiddle with the handlebar settings - I don’t like leaning forward too long, my back gets sore. But it's nice just to be able to step on to it and not totter on my wee stool and sling heave my leg over the saddle.

Rufus and his mum popped in to invite us to dinner on New Year's Eve at the local restaurant. We went last year and had a super time. The early evening session, of course - us oldies were all tucked up in bed by the time the midnight bells rang.

JR went off to get ingredients for another cake, and so Archie and I went to the Links with the giant frisbee. There was a nice weak wintery light. But Archie was rather naughty and ran barking towards a wee girl who was squealing and running happily with her mum. I hurried towards the scene as best I could, calling out, 'Don't worry! He's all right!' But by the time I got near enough to grab him, the wee girl had run back to her mum, squealing even louder, Archie in hot pursuit and full throat. Despite my assurances and profuse apologies, the mother glared at me as if to say, 'Keep your wild dog under control!'

He was on the lead for a while after this incident before I let him off again when the coast was clear. Here he is searching the horizon for any more little kids to terrorise.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.