What a day !

This is the Nativity in the foyer of my Madeira hotel. My lovely taxi driver collected me at 9.15 and I got to the airport and checked in easily. Just as we reached the airport, Jose said that there could be problems as it was foggy.

He was right. No planes could land and by late morning many were diverted to Porto Santo. Our BA seemed likely to have the same fate.

Lots of us were sitting around when we heard a roar. Big cheers went up. The Tui plane made it. An even bigger cheer went up when our BA arrived about ten minutes later.

We got out safely about an hour late but lots of planes were in the wrong place and further bad weather was forecast.

With the warnings in the UK and a later arrival, I decided to be sensible and stay over.

Fat chance. Gatwick hotels were full so I decided to drive a bit on the Motorway as it was still only about 6.30.

The M23 and the M25 behaved and traffic was light apart from lorries. M40 was ok but the snow was much much worse and temperatures were falling.

I remembered there was a Ramada at the South Oxford Services and Suzi the receptionist was super and even upgraded me.

So I'm in a warm and comfy room, watching Nigella - and I have a bed for the night.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.