Graduation day

This girl.

It's been a bit of a whirlwind of a year and this child has seriously surprised me today. I've been a little concerned about a few things that have been going on for Caitlin this year but I'm feeling a little less so after what I've seen during the end of year prize-giving and leavers assemblies.

In previous years Caitlin has always (except one year she didn't get anything) received the diligence award for her class. I watched the citizenship awards get given, then the diligence awards given and I had a horrible sinking feeling that the teacher had confused me as the parent of another child receiving an award and I wasn't meant to be there at all. Then the excellence award was announced and I nearly had my jaw hit the floor when her name was called. Seriously unexpected but I am unbelievably proud and so pleased she ended her primary school years on such a high.

Then we had the leavers assembly where I saw her get up and say a short speech about her time at school, something I didn't think she would have chosen to do with so many parents and children watching her.  I can't say I didn't have tears in my eyes throughout the assembly!

And the best part was of today was seeing her surrounded by so many gorgeous friends she has made, most of whom had also won various awards and I thank my lucky starts that she seems to be so prepared and well supported to move on to intermediate next year. I big change from how I felt just a few short weeks ago.

This is Caitlin with 2 of her bestest friends (of her many best friends) that she has made and kept over the past 6 years. Could't ask for better kids for her to grow up with.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.