My life, my lens

By JennyRampling

Orange

Its funny how life has a way of picking you up when you need it. I've decided to give up my job for a number of reason but mainly as it wasn't making me happy. Ive also had a number of things happen around me this year to remind me that life's too short. Clearly there is also the rational part of my brain that is constantly questioning what's around the corner and how will things work out. Ive not had a second thought about leaving my company but I do worry about the next few months. Every time I have these thoughts something will happen that puts me back on the path and carries me along.

I decided to take a short break at lunch and go for a walk to clear my head. I walked up Lamb's Conduit Street and was browsing around the shops and then bumped into an ex-City Uni colleague. She updated me that she had taken a voluntary severance last year and that it was the best decision she had ever made. She had done a whole range of interesting new things and looked really happy. It was just what I needed to hear and I don't think she had any idea how she had helped.

Im taking my Mum away for her birthday this year so I'm organising a surprise trip. Its been hard booking this without discussing it with her as we talk about everything. This evening I took the plunge and booked and now Im just hoping she's going to like it. We'll have fun wherever we go and we'll be flying out the week after I finish work so I can't wait.


Dawson Flowers, Lamb's Conduit Street, London

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.