Making Up For Lost Time

I have been a bit lax in opening my advent calendar. 

The last of the food picked up (the deserts)  -  and the last couple of presents.
The shop was remarkably quiet and not as the lunatics in the car park would indicate.

I was about to check on my sloe and bramble gins when we got a call from SMWBO's younger sister - could we go and collect prescription for their mother - she had not been feeling well overnight and had phoned J so she went and had her phone NHS24.
About 11.00 the doctor sent a prescription to the 'on-call' pharmacist.
About 11.45 J and MIL went to collect it and there was no sign of it so they headed back to J's house (where MIL was went to be going today anyway).
On the third attempt to get through on the phone to the pharmacy I was told there was no sign of a prescription. I asked what the hell was going on that after 2 hours there was nothing for an 83 year old woman with terminal cancer.
The girl went away to check again.
Low and behold, it had arrived a short time before but had "not been put on the computer". 
How the hell does that happen when it is sent by computer?
I was assured that there was only one prscription to be made up before it so it would be ready within 15 minutes.
We got there 25 minutes later and it was not ready!
After 15 minutes of watching the most inept three members of staff I have ever seen at work I was ready to blow my top but SWMBO told me just to be calm.
After 30 minutes of standing there I was given permission to lose the plot but at that point the pharmasist started asking for MR N with a christian name that was incomprehensable.
Yes - it was the MIL's prescription!
I bit my tongue grabbed the package and left before I ripped the moron's head off.

If the NHS would get rid of half the 'Managers' and bean counters, employ staff who wanted to do the job as a vocation and not as a university graduate seeing it as a way to get a job of any kind, lose the 'Snowman' attitude (I'ts-no-ma-job) and the demarkation and they would be well on the way to getting back on track.

Rant over!

We took the prescription to J's house, had tea and home baking (she makes a mean mince pie!), made sure MIL was feeling okay and headed home where SWMBO wrapped the presents and I made sure the gins were drinkable -- they most cetainly are -- and rebottled them. Some of it will be heading with us to Bag's house tomorrow where we are spending Christmas.

Now, I am going to sit and hve a drink or two.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.