Desert Squirrel

By PolS

Avon-Heathcote Estuary before the storm

Well, I was half way through this and the power went off, so it has been quite a storm. Only one photo to choose from today, which makes life easy. This shot was taken this morning on our walk down the hill from our house to the estuary. I have taken photos from here a few times before, but this morning the light shining on the shipping containers lining the road to Sumner caught my eye. They aren't in any of my previous images. For those of you not familiar with post-earthquake Christchurch, we've used a lot of shipping containers to protect roadways and houses from rock falling from freshly-exposed cliff faces. These containers are stacked two high, and the road is narrowed in consequence.

This image reminds me that life post-earthquake has settled down, but it's certainly not normal as it used to be. We call it the 'new normal'.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.