MATCHDAY

Becky and Mike had planned to run a ParkRun this morning  but when they checked online they found that all the local ones had been cancelled on safety grounds.  They decided to just go for a run round the village but they had to take it slowly as the paths were very icy.

After a light breakfast we pottered around indoors for a bit before driving to Newcastle.  We parked the car near the Redheugh Bridge and then walked through town and down to the Quayside area to The Bridge Tavern where we had a table booked for lunch.  I had fish, chips and mushy peas.  Its what I usually have when we go there and it was very good.

Then we walked up into the centre of town and looked in a few shops.  Becky and I bought identical tops in H & M ( not identical sizes I must admit - Becky's was S and mine was XL ).

Then we made our way to St James Park.  Newcastle were playing Brighton today. I hadn't been able to book seats together so Becky and Mike were a couple of rows behind me.  However for the second half I was able to sit next to them as the person who was there moved. 

My blip is of Becky and Mike before the match kicked off.

The match was dreadful. Score was 0 - 0.   Boring, no passion from either side, lots of mistakes, nothing to get excited about - just a waste of time - and money.  Becky and Mike's tickets were £41 each and they did not feel that they had got their money's worth. Newcastle are 5th bottom of the Premiership and are in a rut at the moment.  They had better sort themselves out soon before its too late.

After the match I needed to pick up a parcel in the indoor shopping centre.  It was on our route to the car so we didn't need to go out of our way.

As it was cold at the match we all had a cup of coffee when we got home - each laced with a generous glug of Baileys.

Later on we got ready to go out for our evening meal.  We had a table booked for 8pm at Oli and Joe's - an Italian restaurant in the village.  The paths were clear of ice by this time so walking was fine.

For my meal I chose salmon and shrimps in a cream sauce with chunky chips.  Followed by chocolate fudge cake with cream and ice cream.  ( My syns total for today is off the scale....and the pounds are piling on.  Two days to go and then I will be back on the Slimming World Plan )

When we got home we settled down to watch Match Of The Day.  We enjoyed the other matches where there was excitement, goals, skill etc - then the very last match was the Newcastle one.  What a waste of time - hardly any highlights to show as there weren't many to choose from.

So that was my day. A busy one.  I'm very weary - and I need to go to bed.  Apologies for lack of comments- I just haven't had the time to sit at the computer at all today.

Steps today - 19,141

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.