New car

After several frustrating weeks, I collected my new car today. I am now working my way through the essential features in the manual - e.g. how to programme the digital radio so I can listen to cricket commentary and interesting music.

When I arrived at the dealer's, there was a woman in floods of tears.  I assumed a family bereavement. In fact, she was distraught at parting company with her old car and replacing it with a new one.

Later, a salesman said to me "she looks great in silver."  I assumed an attractive woman had entered wearing metallic clothing. No, he meant my car.

Why do people sentimentalise and anthropomorphise cars? I like mine to have useful technology and to be reliable but I don't go overboard in love for them. The new one seems very good though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.