momcat1

By momcat1

looking for the dove diner

I am down one dove because about 2 hours after I took this ( probably female adult Cooper's hawk) I was startled by a loud bang and looked up in time to see her flying off with her lunch in hand, er, talons. 
It was pretty busy at the feeders today . After a long absence the goldfinches came back in force and the thistle feeder is now down  by half. They also brought 2 pine siskins with them. ( see extra- not a great photo- which I  had to take it through the window as it kept itself hiding behind the wires of the feeder or the corner I couldn't see through the window)
The other extra is also not great because said titmouse was also hiding in the branches of the crabapple tree. Oh , well , at least they all didn't fly off.
I also spotted 4 deer at dusk rambling across the top of the yard heading towards the river. Unfortunately  one of them was limping and the right front leg looked odd , possibly broken. I hope it was not, but  sadly chances are I will not see it again. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.