Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Rock on

Went to a birthday celebration tonight. Fab evening, lots of old faces, lots of music. There were some eclectic choices in the bands repertoire; I don’t think anyone found REM’s "losing my religion" quite the dance number for a birthday bash but overall it was great fun, and the venue was nice in that you could move between the dance floor and the foyer depending on whether you wanted to show off your moves or indulge in witty banter.

Day was all DIY and painting ... exhausted now! But it’s lovely to see things coming together. I also changed a couple of old sockets and switches, which makes me feel happier on the safety front. I have one of those lights that attaches to your head, simple thing that makes the job much easier. You do feel like a Dalek however. Well, a dickhead if I’m being honest.

I went into the local town centre briefly to try and buy a travel guide to Hawaii (not for me but as a gift) but the WH Smith travel guides are all organised on an A-Z basis and the only thing under H was ten books about Budapest. Someone was obviously having a bad day.

I technically start my new job on Monday but the NHS is in continuous transition, so it doesn’t feel like a big deal. The main thing will be to change my email signature and to get my head around who my new team are and what we have to deliver. Rome wasn’t built in a day as they say. But this has been a good weekend to help that process along ... just not long enough. Something else I hope to address this year...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.