Flying off to Scotland!

Dear Diary,

Well, it is official!  I've booked my flight back to Scotland for September and I am beyond excited.  I went looking for one of my photographs from my previous visits and thought this one, from 2005, would suit.  It is from North Uist in the Outer Hebrides but I won't be traveling there this time.  On this trip I will be visiting Glasgow, Edinburgh and the island of Lindisfarne.  Lindisfarne, also known as the Holy Island, really is in England but just south of the Scottish border.  I will be staying with friends in Glasgow and I will also have a first Blipmeet in Auchterarder at the end of my trip. 

I've added another photograph from that first trip to Scotland, when I was fully committed to the monochrome image.  It is of Dun Carloway on the Isle of Lewis.  Looking at that image brings back so much of why I love Scotland, the amazing landscape, the rich history and especially the warm, lovely people.  (Did I mention the scones?)  It also makes me wonder if my new little Coolpix will do it justice.  I guess that remains to be seen.

For the first time, I won't be renting a car but relying on the wonderful train and bus services in Scotland.  It is quite easy to get around there.  I will have to plan my journey to Lindisfarne carefully because it is a tidal island with access only at low tide.  I visited Mont St. Michel in France which is also a pilgrimage site accessible only at low tide.  I've added an extra photograph of the tidal sands approaching the island.  So, now all I have to do is wait and enjoy the anticipation (and practice with my little camera!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.