Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

The Full Monty

Gym visit ✔️

Popped to the doctor this morning to get some new pills to try. He is a most charming doctor, young and handsome with an acceptable amount of stubble. Stubble really suits young men, but all those old codgers trying this, please stop - you don’t look 'cool', you look like you don’t have access to a sink and a mirror. Proper beards are fine, of course.

Anyway, I digress. He was quite disconcerting, because he moved his chair and sat close to me, looking sympathetic, saying that he really wanted to get my aches and pains sorted. Hmmm, the last doctor I saw said that there was nothing more she could suggest, so that‘s an improvement. He's moving on to Fife, as he's in training. :-(

From there I popped to the gym, but it was even more of a struggle on the cross trainer today. And it was a slow slow walk across the Links later to our favourite dog friendly pub, where we met up with Annemique and shouted her breakfast. I must add, that our breakfasts were much more humble, as befits people trying to lose weight. She then took Archie off for the day, for possibly the last time before she starts her job. She's so excited about getting a white lab coat!

What a lovely day it is. No wind! Annemique mentioned that she never had to cancel an Archie walk because of bad weather.

I did a few household chores, including hoovering. I have had the new cordless hoover out every day this week - it's so easy, it's almost a pleasure. I also did my good deed of the week - I tidied up all the rubbish in our neighbour's garden (he's away). The big recycling bin at the end of the street hasn’t been emptied for ages and so people just leave their rubbish around it (plus ça change...) So what happens when it's windy? Yes, it blows all over the neighbourhood. Don’t get me started on litter...

I was very pleased to see that Davis Cup Tennis is on today - a good excuse to get comfy and just lie still for the afternoon, though I soon reverted to fiddling about on the computer.

Six Nations Rugby starts tomorrow. Yay!

PS Archie had a peaceful night. He's back to normal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.