Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Cute dog!

Popped to the surgery for my blood test, and to impart the news that I didn't need it any more, but I had a general one to see if I can stop my other pills. I'll soon not be costing the NHS quite so much!

The waiting room is normally a quiet sedate space, with everyone probably concerned with their own ailments. But today a couple of neighbours came in, and they wanted to start a game of 'The Minister's Cat...'. Then the man sitting over in the bay window came over to say hello. I hadn't noticed him - his face was in the shade - he was my knee surgeon! I couldn't resist talking shop and told him my news.

When I came back from the surgery I - wait for it - went to the gym. And I didn't take my stick, as it's so near, and going into a gym with a walking stick seemed too silly.

And what fun I had. Though I could not for the life of me use the bike. In fact, I had great difficulty even prising myself on to it. I tried both the upright one and the lying back one. Impossible.

I moved on to the leg exercises, and the gym instructor came and gave me advice. In fact, two of them came and fussed around me, giving advice and encouraging me. I think they really get rather bored - most of the gym punters just do their own thing - so they were quite happy to have a diversion.

In fact they were so sweet, telling me not to overdo it, and assuring me that my last effort - five minutes on the cross trainer - was amazing!

JR went off to the supermarket after lunch, and I took Archie on a double block walk, with a sit down half way in Rufus's house. I then did my sofa leg stretch exercises and listened to my audiobook.

When JR came back, she took Archie for a run in the Meadows. They met a wee boy, who spied Archie, and called to his wee friend,
'Orlando! Come and see the cutest wee dog EVER!'

Orlando has met Archie before, and both wee lads gave Archie treats, and he was fine with them.

JR just caught some lovely evening light. Well done again in the photo department, JR!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.