Life In Wales

By KarenC

Salud!

I met a friend for lunch today at a local Spanish Tapas bar. We've never been there before but it's literally 5 minutes walk from where we live - we've always walked past and said that we must try it, so today I did!

It's a traditional Spanish shop at the front with a very small restaurant at the back. When I got there, I was a little disappointed as there were only 3 tables and there were no other customers. The owner asked if we wanted Tapas or Paella - I asked for the menu, and she said 'I am the menu'.

My friend is married to a Spaniard and can speak fluent Spanish so I left the ordering to her. She chose a selection of tapas to start and a small paella to share as a main course and it was fantastic, very traditional food.

When we asked for the bill she gave us a peach schnapps served in these little iced glasses. My friend said her husband will love it, and the owner told her that she will prepare more authentic Spanishes dishes for him if they call a day in advance! So from being a little disappointed to start, I came out of there wanting to go back!

Anyway, it's Friday and i'm now heading to meet Alan for after work drinks - Happy weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.