Greta and Gerta!

Well, they had to be named with the letter G as they really are greedy girls! This is Greta and the lighter feathery bum is Gerta! You can see all of her in the extra! Greta is the smaller and slightly more timid one. Felicity obviously thought she could take her and they had an almighty fight which I had to break up! But they resumed and I think Greta finally gave way, but my she was feisty! 
I had put them in the eglu run in the morning so that they and the other hens could get used to each others presence. Felicity and Betsy tried to peck them through the wire and they both responded by pecking back! Once they had settled they both disappeared inside the eglu and laid eggs! The fight occurred once I let them out later in the afternoon! This was the only one though, the other girls left them alone as they walked round the edge of the fence pecking at the grass.  When a sudden hailstorm came they both knew to head back to the covered eglu run! The other hens were under the metal sheeting shelter! Oh and I discovered usually broody  Izzy has been the hen laying an egg! I had put straw under the metal sheeting so whichever one was laying had somewhere nice to do it. But when I let the two G's out the eglu run Izzy ran straight in and laid an egg in the eglu! She must have been holding onto it all day! As I waited for dusk to fall I cut back the last of the raspberry canes - and got whacked across my upper lip by one cane that made the blood pour! There was me thinking it would be Gerta and Greta who might be injured! 
They were both a little timid going into the coop at bedtime - all the others had gone in but two were looking out the doorway menacingly! Once I went into the run the two G's followed me in! Gerta went in by herself but Greta was still wary. Felicity came out and tried to round her up but failed! In the end I grabbed her and popped her in! 
I think they are both going to be ok - far better introducing a pair or more to the coop - they have each other for support and it means they share the hen pecking! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.