ISS fly by

It was a good one tonight - nearly six minutes from initial visibility in the West to disappearing with a little orange flicker in the South East. If I had been set up properly I would have got a longer trail, but the camera was set to 20 second exposures, and I always panic a little that I am going to miss it. So I just set it to shoot and then stood, watched and pondered the miracle of scientific development that allows humankind to orbit the planet and see the miracles that we probably all miss from our spot down here.

Hopefully the weekend will give some clear skies - tomorrow night particularly - another significant pass of the ISS and hopefully some activity from the Orionids meteor shower.

Fingers crossed. I can wrap up warm and watch the skies. That doesn't take any energy at all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.