Views of my world

By rosamund

Redshanks

If the RSPB identifier is to be trusted then I believe these are red shanks.

It's ages since I had a bird blip but I was put in the mood after the atmospheric description from Waterfoot Sunrise this morning with all his talk of curlews so after another afternoon decorating the kids and I went to Lunderston Bay so I could walk 5k and catch some birds or the sunset.

I didn't think I'd have much luck with the birds as the tide was right in but the oystercatchers and curlews had flocked to the neighbouring fields to settle down for the night. We had a lovely walk as I took lots of shots, I haven't had a good blip walk like that for ages. All the way to the rope swing and back was exactly 5k so I logged that for day 42 of my 5x50 challenge.

It wasn't til I was reviewing my shots on the computer that I noticed these different birds and just had to look them up. I don't have much knowledge of birds, I found them all too similar and confusing to learn them all when I was growing up and the twitchier members of my family would try and teach me.

I dearly wish I had listened, especially to my gran who knew all the calls of the garden birds and I would now love to be able to tell who is who just by their sounds, she even knew wee sayings to remember each of them (one had something about cheese in it), maybe I should find the old observer bird book from ebay or spend more time on the RSPB website listening to their samples.

I had a really good day today, time to myself, time being helpful, time with the children and time relaxing - perfect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.