Window With A View

Cancelled my IBC class today as we had already done everything we had to do this week yesterday, and as it was my only class there was no further issue.  It was good to stay at home and watch the Olympics, of course!  Our fourth GOLD was harvested today -- Kei Verbeij won the 1500m. men's race!  On top of that, Patrick Roest won the silver!  I post these things on my FB page as well and I think folks will tire of it by the end of the week.  Apologies?  No, as I am proud of our speed skaters.  Seems only yesterday that the 2014 Games were held.  I don't think the medal count will be as high as that time, though, but no matter, it's just glorious to watch them.

The view is from our side window.  Thought I'd take some shots as once the jungle starts to get leafy in the spring the view will not be as clear.

Did some work at home, of course.  Completed the Academic Writing topics for the third year as I am the coordinator of that subject.  They are supposed to write reports on various things and conclude with practical recommendations for an existing company.  If you read them, you might spot some of my MOOCs:
'For the company of your choice ...
1)  BREXIT - What are the possible consequences of BREXIT in terms of commerce and trade with the UK and with the EU after March 2019?
2)  Customization vs. Globalization -- Which of these trends should be pursued to ensure a better balance between profitability and sustainability?
3)  The Internet of Things -- Explore the relationship between the inter-connectivity of things and informed consumerism.  Include a risk assessment.
4)  Supply Chain Management and the Inclusive Economy -- How would the company or companies of your choice contribute to a more inclusive economy in terms of better supply chain management strategies?
5)  The Sharing Economy -- Would the company or companies of your choice benefit from any form of participation in the Sharing Economy? Include aspects such as globalization, human resource management, and law.

Their portfolio is supposed to be 4000 words, excluding table of contents, error analysis, and bibliography.  I asked the colleagues what deadline they'd like me to set, and they said Friday, 8 June, so I made it Sunday, 10 June, to give the students an extra 48 hours for all that last-minute work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.