Chris - Berwick Upon Tweed

This is Chris, who kindly posed for me today. As this picture was taken he was talking about his army days.

I had a fantastic day today. The weather was perfect and I went for a short photography course with my friend trixta, who took me all the way to Berwick Upon Tweek to take some practice shots. He told me all I needed to know about aperture, shutter speed, iso, metering mode and composition. He told me how the set the camera to get the best of the light and get a good exposure. It was very interesting and he was very patient with me, I have to say! Now, I should only use the Manual mode. So I've been told! :)

The course is very interesting and worth taking it if you want to get started with taking good pictures ignoring all the already set modes in your camera. Click here if you want to have a look at his website.

One of the challenges I had today was to approach a stranger and ask him if I could take a picture of him, and then do a portrait with the manual settings. I did, and this is the result after many takes. His name is Chris. He was very kind and patient with me, as it took me a while to get the settings right. In the meantime, my friend T was having a chat with him, which helped getting a natural expression on his face.

I had lots of fun, and I learned a lot.

Now I need to get ready for my trip to Helsinki. I need to learn as well how to say "can I take a photo of you?" in Finnish! Hahaha!

Thanks very much for all your nice comments! I hope you all had a great weekend! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.