Weather

The locals are sure that this has been the coldest winter for 40 years. I’ve been coming for around ten years - long enough to know that it isn’t all blue skies and sunbathing weather. I don’t mind. I’ve also been here often enough to know that it can change several times in a day. The day before the 2010 tragedy, it had been still, calm blue perfection.

A blast of bad weather has been predicted and it arrived this morning. Strong winds, waves lashing and torrential rain.

It was still idyllic to swim early this morning, although the waves sounded dramatic and I took this photo just after I’d had my breakfast.

In my photo you can see the replacement jetty that had taken three years to fix. I blipped it back in December 2014. That storm was higher than the palm trees. I chose the greater clarity of mono.

It was wet today. Red flags warning against sea swimming. We took a taxi to the Old Town for lunch as we didn’t want to sit in wet clothes (but it was dry when we’d finished so we came back on the bus).

Packing. Finishing off the provisions (too scared to risk red wine in my case.). Final evening entertainment in the hotel and then back to Gatwick tomorrow......

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.