Coming home

Madeira airport is one of my favourites. It’s small and friendly and they still have a wonderful roof vantage point for watching the planes arrive and depart. Remember the old days ? With terrorism and security, it’s pretty rare these days.

My blip is a panoramic of the full extent of the runway. To the right you can see where it was extended over the sea.

I noticed a very sharp increase in security today. More guards, some armed, and meticulous screening. I admit to feeling a little relieved. I would hate for anyone to take advantage of their welcoming ness.

We arrived in Gatwick a bit early, thank goodness. With the South East telling everyone to get home by six, I was glad to set off quickly on the M23 and M 25. Sleet and snow was starting.

It got worse towards High Wycombe. Huge snowflakes and a horrendous sky. No temptation to find a hotel as it’s clear it’s going to be worse tomorrow.

By Banbury it had subsided. A few flakes on my way home.

Now I just have to hope I can collect Furbie before the weather takes hold.

Thank you for sharing my lovely trip and writing such encouraging words.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.