last night

February was a very short month and suddenly it was the last day and I hadn't bivvied so it had to be last night or not at all. Sitting all cosy by the fire after dinner and looking at the forecast for  heavy snowshoers overnight, I did briefly contemplate "not at all" but the skies cleared and the moonlight in the woods looked so lovely...

I strung up a basha between the birch trees to funnel any snow away from my head. I had a hot water bottle in my sleeping bag :-)

 It was a cold night, but the snow never fell. I woke up unscathed at 7.30, just as the sun was appearing over the hill behind me, and went in to put the kettle on and fetch my camera before packing everything up.

Hopefully the March bivvy will be a little warmer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.