Levi and James

You have to read to find out how awesome this gentleman is!

Corin persuaded me to buck my ideas up and go out with him and James for the afternoon, so we headed over to Liverpool to the new museum.

Fantastic place, with so much to see and to take in. Have had some wonderful conversations with James about aspects of the culture and history of Liverpool that I know of from my own grandparents. He was, as always, an absolute delight to spend time with. He mooched around, sometimes with me, sometimes with Corin, sometimes just following his own path. As I expected, the historical aspects to do with the World Wars were the areas that interested him most and we talked about how lucky we are to have my Nana, his Great-Nana, still with us to share her tales of growing up during the Second World War. We are both grateful to have her in our lives.

Then, in the Wondrous Place, on the top floor of the museum, I lost myself in the 'entertainment' side of Liverpool, with fantastic exhibits relating to the many and varied talents that Liverpool has produced. I confess that I did get stuck in front of the display of images and information about Brookside, as it was the one soap that I followed religiously until it ended.

Whilst in the Wondrous Place, we could hear a performance taking place. We knew that Levi Tafari was in the museum today, as it had been announced as we arrived. James and I mooched over and were rewarded with half an hour in the presence of a man full of humour, wit, wisdom, love and humility - delivered through his wonderful poetry. I don't know if you have ever been in front of a performer and felt that you were the only member of the audience, but his style, his energy and enthusiasm just had me utterly rapt. Not in a sycophantic way I hasten to add, just because for the first time in so long, I actually felt energised and able to smile, because he was so good. I urge you to see him if you ever have the opportunity.

His open demeanour continued to shine through, when he posed for photos with the children. James ASKED if I would take one of him with Levi - for him to willingly put himself in front of my camera is a measure of the impact Levi had on him too. Levi has kindly given me details so that I can contact him with a view to possibly arranging a school visit. I really hope that we can, because our students would absolutely love his work and his delivery. His message of celebration, particularly of cultural diversity, is one that is relevant to all of us, and our students especially. It would be good to reinforce our ethos in this way.

More about Levi here.

Despite my health issues, which manifested themselves with a certain amount of force this morning, I have had a really positive day and I feel very energised. I will however take heed that this will be a transient feeling and I have to listen to what my pain is telling me. For now. For soon, it will be gone!

By the way, thanks for the views and comments these last few days with the ISS and Jupiter. In fact, thanks full stop. Your comments never fail to entertain, amuse and cheer me up, particularly when this condition of mine makes me bleak. xxx

Hebs
xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.