Autumn

We were able to spend most of the day with my brother and Faye today, which is unusual for our weekend visits - normally we have to be away by lunchtime in order to get home in time to do homework and such like. However, as James and I aren't at school we made the most of it.

This morning/early afternoon we went for a walk around Norwood Park - a little haven of tranquility in the South Norwood area that I didn't even know existed. Quite a history to it as well, which was nicely left on display on the park toilet block!

Aside from it being a lovely day and wanting to take advantage of the autumn sunshine and fresh air, there was a motive to going to the park. My lovely sister-in-law has a really good eye for photography and is wanting to progress from her little point and shoot up to a DSLR. I had taken both of my cameras down with a range of lenses, so we set about letting her have a play around. She has taken some cracking shots which I would be very proud of! Hopefully, she will come into the family photography fold soon enough and then I won't be alone in tormenting everyone!!!

Back to their place for a most delicious Sunday lunch - beautiful tender roast beef, crispy roasties, light and fluffy yorkshires and the tastiest gravy I have had in a long time. Oh, and I even ate some runner beans which is the first time since I was about James' age and I decided that all green vegetables were evil!

We left at 5pm, trundled at a snails pace along the M25, but then made excellent time for the subsequent 140 miles. Lane closures about 10 miles from home brought us to a halt for ten minutes or so, but fortunately, a lorry driver decided to stop all of the traffic that was shooting down the outside lanes to cut in, then the traffic moved again.

James went straight to bed, we're just messing around blipping and soon it will be sleepies. Was a lovely weekend with lots of walking, good food and quality company as always.

Thanks for having us :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.