conventgirl

By conventgirl

The tart with the cart

I have just realised that I haven't blipped anything from my Dublin trip and, as I haven't got anything else today, it's about time I did!

This statue of Molly Malone has many nicknames including 'The Dolly with the Trolly', 'The Dish with the Fish', 'The Flirt in the Skirt', and 'The Trollop with the Scallop'. All these names derive from her ample bosoms which have to be stroked for good luck. Funnily enough, Conventboy2 (at 21 years old) wouldn't do it in public.

I love the way the snow has settled on her chest - she should've wrapped up warmer on such a chilly day.


In Dublin's fair city
Where the girls are so pretty
I first set my eyes on sweet Molly Malone
As she wheeled her wheelbarrow
Through the streets broad and narrow
Crying "cockles and mussels, alive, alive, oh"

Alive, alive, oh
Alive, alive, oh
Crying "cockles and mussels, alive, alive, oh"

She was a fishmonger
And sure, t'was no wonder
For so were her mother and father before
And they wheeled their barrow
Through the streets broad and narrow
Crying "cockles and mussels, alive, alive, oh"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.