AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

Workshop (with emphasis on the "work"!)

I've never done one of these for work before, so wasn't sure what to expect. Hoped (and didn't want it to be, at the same time) it would be someone droning on at the front and I could sit at the back and stare out of the window. And what a view! We were in the George Hotel, and had a lovely room with a balcony on the 5th floor.

It was a great session. Group-work (and not with anyone you knew - one of my colleagues was also there and we hardly spoke! I like her, honestly!), role playing, question and answer sessions around the table - no-one sat back and just watched. I really enjoyed it, participated far more than I expected to and met some lovely people. I networked!!

Bit of a wander round after the session - I had an hour until my train. Saw a lovely building over the road from the hotel with beautiful Christmas decorations, found a gold pillar box (though I don't know who it was dedicated to) and had a wee wander around Jenners. Still a sucker for sparkly lights!

Time for home then, a long journey where we were delayed and I thought I'd have to wait 2 hours in York for the next train to Selby but, bless 'em, they held the train until we arrived! Managed to steal someone else's taxi from Selby station (well, she shouldn't have taken so long to get over the bridge!!) and finally got home at 9.30pm.

Ahhh, a lie in tomorrow. No? Oh...

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.