picklepeter

By picklepeter

Day nurse, night nurse

We're heading to Fontainebleau tomorrow for our annual rock climbing trip. This is basically the climbing highlight of the year and with all this expectation comes great anxiety.

I know the comparison is a bit trite but imagine an Olympic athlete training for years before the event only to be struck down with an injury or a cold.

Now I'm not in any way implying that I'm an Olympic standard rock climber (far from it!) but I've certainly put in a good deal of time and effort over several months in terms of training, in the hope of coming away from the trip with a clutch of 'noteworthy' ascents.

I can't do any more in terms of physical conditioning now so the big worry moves to illness. Climbing with a cold isn't really much fun and would certainly knock several grades off my performance. Hopefully my combination of day nurse and night nurse will keep all the nasty office bugs away...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.