The Princess and the Dog

By Princessnthedog

Spring In My Step

Dear O’h dear and Lovely Tea Jenny,

Spring is here today!

The weather was amazing. It was a properly sunny day when I woke up. In my overexcitement, I just got up at 6 and went for a run. I have noticed that at that time in the morning, there is a kind of ‘runner’s etiquette’ where people acknowledge each other which is really nice and makes a very pleasant change from walking along with everyone doing their best to avoid eye contact with anyone. I now feel quite affronted if another runner doesn’t give me a nod or a hello. I want to run after them and explain the secret code.

I took Murphy out for a walk in the Hermitage with Smashly and Jarvis, his bonkers spaniel who was on a mission. He was trailblazing through the woods as if he had a rocket up his bum. This would be fine but he is completely deaf and has a habit of wandering off. It felt like we were in a Scooby Doo (no, not Benny Hill) chase.

I will admit to feeling VERY smug by 10 am. I’m surprised that no one has contacted me to pose with a beaming ‘yaaaaaaay, I am having a great time’ smiles for one of those ‘be more active’ posters. You know, the ones that make you feel grumpy when you are having a movie and chocolate day because they seem to be singling you out as a lazy b@stard.

I met Lovely Shuvly and Sooj in The Devil’s Advocate for a boozy lunch. I had the slight fear due to being a rubbish drinker but I managed to keep going without tipping into the abyss and I had a really lovely time. Shuv is always hilarious company and it is nice to get to know Sooj better as I usually only see her at big nights out.

I wandered home about 9 feeling quite merry and happy with life.

C

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.