Vital Sparks

By VitalSparks

A foolish Spring walk back to Winter

As I do at this time of year I set off looking to meet the Spring migrant birds - I hope to see the ones that come from Africa not just the ones that Winter on the coast ( Curlew and Lapwing ) that are already here.

But nothing to report so far and as it was cold enough to snow - it did and not just overnight but straight into my face for a couple of minutes but at least it brightened ( and warm slightly ) after that.

The Extra photo shows the snow higher up and a fell runner heading that  way - "All the way to the top?"  I asked  - "Oh yes!" was the reply.

So I'll have to try again in a couple of days.

I did see Snipe on a wall, Meadow Pipits flitting about, Lapwings doing wingovers, Curlews calling out to mark their new territories and Red Grouse chuckling and the sound of the guns down the vallly that were, for a while at least pointed at clays and targets rather than them. Though the  Woodpigeons made a hasty exit from that area.

More fool me - I could have stayed in kept warm.

Happy Easter.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.