SAD AND HAPPY EVENTS

It was the service today with full military honours for the local soldier recently killed in Afghanistan, and the residents and tourists of Skipton lined the route to the church. It was heatbreaking as his young wife and two small children followed his coffin. As the hearse moved slowly up the High Street spontaneous and respectful clapping from the onlookers broke the silence. I stood in the churchyard and listened to the service relayed through loud speakers for the crowds outside. It was full of love and regret at the loss of a husband, father and son, a beautiful service of thanks for this heroic man's life.

I look forward to the day our troops come safely home and this killing stops. Lives wasted and hearts broken.

My blip today has no connection to the above. On the Calendar News website an article had been posted about the Gannet population at Yorkshire's Bempton Cliffs. Except the "lonesome Gannet" in the accompanying photo was not a Gannet, but a gull. I emailed them with a photo and Voila, I'm in the News! Except they didn't change their text so my two Gannets are now described as lonesome still.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.