Life In Wales

By KarenC

Dream

We arrived at my daughter & son-in-laws earlier than expected this morning.

We had a very disturbed night's sleep last night at our hotel in Calais due to gale force winds and heavy rain. Our bedroom was at the end of the corrider very close the security exit which was a metal door. We were woken up at 3am with it banging continuously so I telephoned reception to tell them and the guy said he'd come and check it out.

By 4am it was still banging and we'd only had 3 hours sleep. I phoned reception again and he said there was nothing he could do as it was damaged and he couldn't close it. I said that we weren't able to sleep due to the noise and he offered to change our room, but as we were due to leave at 6.30am I said there was no point. We therefore decided to get up as we were awake and we managed to get a train at 6am.

One advantage is that we've had a full day with Rachel & Scott and this afternoon I've been out baby shopping :-)

When we got back from shopping, Alan & I took Louis out for a walk to see 'Dream' which is a 20 metre high sculpture built on the old colliery in St Helens.

It was designed by Spanish artist Jaume Plensa, and is made of pre-cast concrete and Spanish dolomite and takes the form of a girl's head with her eyes closed in a dream-like state.

I like this photo as you can see the size of it with the person taking a photo at the bottom.

Anyway, it's time to go and get an Indian takeaway, and have a relaxing night followed by a decent nights sleep!.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.