twinned with trumpton

By MrFT

A slow start; I didn't have to go to the Kirkhouse to see my brother and nieces until 11 so copious amounts of tea and a bacon and egg roll and some quiet lounging about.

Off down the hill I went on glistening roads, all pristine after the showers of the morning.(see extra) An Easter egg for each of them tucked under my arm.

A decent hour; sad to see my bruv is worsening with the MS; much less mobile than in October and slowly retreating into comfort zones and not overstretching himself. But a good chat, and some harsh words about him letting my ex stay there but in October I was granted a single day's audience for the week we were there. He at least had the good grace to look embarressed about it. But we drank coffee and then off I went to meet her at the top of the hill. Off into the wind and around by Aikers - the longer route and into the Hope; and onwards out to Sands of Wright and on to Hoxa. We could see the sleet storm edging off Flotta and slowly engulf the boat in the middle of Scapa Flow so I reckoned we could just about make the bus shelter before the worst of it arrived. OK so we didn't quite, but we managed soon enough. Whilst cars scurried off to tea shops, we waited and 10 minutes later had the beach to ourselves as the sun reemerged ( a recurring them on Sunday)

And so back to the Hope, for cheese and a lottery ticket (have you not seen that episode of Ready Steady Cook..?) before a slow meander through the village and back up to Lookout. 

I rustled up a pasta dish with the left over gammon and added a cheese sauce and some spinach and a hearty filling warming dish was served. Later left over rice pudding was resurrected as we watched crap TV late into the night....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.