2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Dress rehersal

Thank you all for your very kind words yesterday on my 300th blip.

Today I've had a lie in (well if 8.30 is a lie in!)
I also had a look into the Preston Guild Marathon expo and met up with the race organiser for a chat. I'm refereeing tomorrow and he wanted to chat about a couple of small details. My job is to make sure the race meets various conditions. I know it will be fine. I don't referee races that aren't up to scratch because they are hard work and no fun. Tomorrow I can enjoy it and support the organiser so he enjoys it too.

This afternoon was a dress rehersal for the big FA Cup game next week. I don't usually wear a tie but as it has never lost I thought it would be OK.
It was one of the best 0-0 draws I have ever seen. Both sides playing good football and good defending by both sides.

Sadly I had to announce a silence for two supporters. 1 was only 49, the other was over 90 and had been involved with the club in its various guises since 1946 as player, manager, committee member and honorary vice president. I've done a few announcements like this and they are never easy. I feel it's important get it right, especially for those closest to the person. I was thanked after the game so that was nice and reassured me I'd got it right.

An early night I think ready for an early start and long day tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.