Nostalgia

Alphabet Challenge this week is N is for Nostalgia. This reminds me of May 1952. I was 11½ and staying with my Aunt while my Mum was in hospital having my sister. I loved this little early morning tea set and my Aunt occasionally used it as a treat. On May 21st 1952 she brought it to me with tea in bed and the postcard on the tray from my Mum telling me I had passed the 11 plus and the entrance exam for a scholarship to the grammar school.
The postcard itself tells a lot about things of those times which are so different from now. It was written on 20th May from the hospital where Mum still was following the birth of my sister - on 15th! No complications or anything, it was just usual for mums to be in hospital for at least 10 days following the birth. It was delivered the next morning, in a village, before my aunt brought me tea in bed at 7.30 - there was no such thing as 1st or 2nd class post and there were at least two deliveries of post a day - one early in the morning, one at lunchtime and, in towns, one at about 4pm 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.