Rodents rule

By squirk

Light-hearted

This is quite a stage. We went to see The Trembling Bells at Bethnal Green Working Men’s Club. The club smelled like places my grandparents hung out in - lots of nostalgia in the senses as we waited for the band to come on. It was a very hot gig as it was sold out with 200 plus folk in a fairly small room. I recognised a fair few Trembling Bells regulars.

The support act, Baby Copperhead was great. Lovely banjo playing. I liked his surf band stuff, too. He had a bass clarinetist accompanying him - that’s a new instrument for me.

The Bells rocked the place! Another great gig from them. Being a London gig, people started leaving early to catch their trains. I caught someone wanting to buy a record but, as all the musicians were on stage, there was no one to buy the records from. I jumped in behind the merch table and earned my guest pass! It was fun feeling like I was part of the band for a while.

As always it was lovely to catch up with Simon on one of his tours. It must be exhausting being on the road and playing every night for a week. It’s almost time for him to be back in Glasgow. Then, he’s back playing here in July.

I felt rotten en route home - migraine, the first one in four months. I thought that might be me down for three days, but I got some new medicine after the last one and used it for the first time (despite all the terrifying side effects listed). I’m absolutely delighted to report that it did the trick! Happy, happy dance! Phew.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.