House clearance

So since I found my poor father-in-law passed away on St. Patrick’s day we have had the heavy task of clearing his house hanging over us. With the kids off school for 2 weeks over Easter we couldn’t get much done so it’s been all systems go since last week. Thought once the big stuff like sofas, bed, drawers, wardrobes, cooker, fridge/freezer, washing machine, tv, etc all got cleared out it would be easier but looking through personal possessions and clothes and documents has been really hard. So many memories for my husband too.

It’s been such an emotional rollercoaster saying farewell to his wee house and the lovely memories we had there and the kids had with their Granda. It’s just all so final. I don’t feel relieved that the hard task is over, I thought I would because my husband is an only child and lost his mum 9yrs ago when she was only 66yrs old so we didn’t have masses of hands on help. We had some friends helped with the heavy furniture to be removed and we donated a lot to British Red Cross.

I just feel numb now that we will never be there again and that he’s truly gone. A constant reminder of that is waking up most nights remembering I found him dead on the floor. It’s a hard thing to erase from your mind. So suddenly, no warning, no time to say goodbye....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.