Emergency button

So been clearing out my father-in-laws house since he passed away. We look at his emergency pendant and wonder how different things would have been if he pressed the button or pulled one of the many emergency cords in the bungalow.

Did he even wear it to bed that night?

Did he wear it but take it off when he woke for the bathroom?

If he had pressed it would we have found him alive and perhaps would gone through surgery and been recovering in hospital right now....?

If any of you have a loved one who has one of this emergency pendants, please, please let them know the risks of not wearing it. I used to catch my father-in-law the odd time not wearing his pendant, afraid it would dip in food while eating his dinner or forgetting to put it back on after his shower. I think sometimes he associated wearing it with falling. He used to say “sure I won’t fall”. I wish we had emphasised that pressing the button was for any emergency, feeling sick or dizzy, even if he couldn’t talk back to the intercom the switchboard would have rang us or called an ambulance.

If only he had been wearing his pendant when I found him maybe i would have felt more content that him collapsing was so sudden he didn’t have time to press it. We have been told it happened so fast he may not have even realised the seriousness of his condition until it was too late.

But what if he had of been wearing the pendant? What if....? That’s what we lie in bed at night thinking. Would it have saved his life? We should be visiting him in hospital right now instead of his grave. Will I ever stop waking up in the middle of the night with the image of finding him collapsed on the floor? I hope I do because I usually sleep so well and waking up remembering that morning is killing me.....

I’m glad it was me and not my husband, I don’t think he would ever have gotten over finding his Dad like I did I after we watched his poor Mother die when she was only 66.

He was always afraid of the pendant going off by accident. Sometimes he would lie on it in bed and the alarm went off by accident but I told him so many times it didn’t matter. The switchboard would ring up and check he was ok and all he has to say it was a false alarm. Is that why he wasn’t wearing it that night??

Anyway I don’t usually blither on this much but clearing his house and hanging up his pendant made me think that perhaps it will save a life the next time....just maybe :-(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.