Huw

By Huw

Le Mont St. Michel

Today I visited this tidal island, monastery, and UNESCO world heritage site. It is quite pretty and once you elbow your way past the mainly Japanese tourists and baby buggies there are some amazing views. They also sell churros!

The Mont does have a rather colourful history. It was built at the command of the Archangel Michael, who first had to burn a hole through the skull of a bishop before he got the message across. We've all been there.

Tomorrow we are going to Paimpont forest, said to be that of Arthurian legend. There is a nice quote on Wikipedia from the medieval chronicler Wace who visited with apparently elevated expectations due to the legend.

"...I went there in search of marvels; I saw the forest and the land and looked for marvels, but found none. I came back as a fool and went as a fool. I went as a fool and came back as a fool. I sought foolishness and considered myself a fool."

I hope at least to find some cèpes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.