The Constellation

The Hove Plinth has just been constructed on Kings Esplanade and was officially 'opened' on Saturday, so I decided to go and check it out at lunch time.

It will exhibit a changing programme of sculptures and the inaugural sculpture is called 'The Constellation' and is based on an Orrery, but rather than planets, there are icons of popular things associated with the past and present of Hove, that orbit the system.  The icons are: The Amber Cup (although I'm not sure what this is), The Hove Ship, Queen Victoria, West Blatchington Windmill, Sussex Cricketer, Special Effects Cine Camera, Rampion Wind Turbine, Elm Tree, Hove Beach Hut, Seagull and a Skateborder. Apparently it will remain in place for about 18 months, and will then be replaced with something else.

It's different and I was quite impressed with it and it actually spins round in the wind.  This blip is a collection of the icons, and I've added a shot of the full thing to my extras.

Tonight I've been out to a Brighton Skies meet up.  I've been part of the group on Facebook for some time so it's nice to get together and meet other members from the group.  They all seem like lovely people, and we all have one thing in common - photography!  I showed some of them Blip and they seemed quite interested so hopefully we will have some new Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.